Club Team and Senior Club Team Start MSGA Championship Season

MSGA Set to Kick Off Championship Season with 27th Club Team and 4th Senior Club Team Championships


Belgrade Lakes, ME The 2017 MSGA Championship season kicks off on Sunday, May 21, as the first of its 13 Championships takes place at Belgrade Lakes GC, host site of the 27th playing of the Club Team Championship. The event consists of four players that belong to the same golf club competing in a best two-of-four format, with teams competing for both gross and net prizes. Players will all play their own ball, with the best two scores counting on each hole as the team score. The following day, May 22, will be the 4th playing of the Senior Club Team Championship, which mirrors the Club Team in its format, but is for players from the same club all aged 55 and older.

This marks the 13th time that Belgrade Lakes GC has hosted the Club Team Championship and 3rd time hosting the Senior Club Team Championship. The golf course opened in 1998 to rave reviews, and was recently ranked by Golf Digest as one of the top 100 public golf courses in the United States.

Click here for tee times and live scoring for the Club Team Championship -- May 21

Click here for tee times and live scoring for the Senior Club Team Championship -- May 22


Club Team Championship Quick Facts

Recent Champions

2016: Martindale CC (Joe Baker, Brian Bilodeau, Jace Pearson, Andrew Slattery)

2015: Sable Oaks GC (Jeff Cole, Mike Doran, Ashley Fifield, Matt Greenleaf)

2014: Martindale CC (Brian Bilodeau, Will Kannegieser, Andrew Slattery, Andrew Stonehouse)

2013: Augusta CC (Tom Bean, Mark Plummer, Jason Gall, Ryan Gay)

2012: Augusta CC (Tom Bean, Mark Plummer, Jim Quinn, Jason Gall)


Golf Clubs Represented (31)

(3) Falmouth, Penobscot Valley

(2) Biddeford-Saco, Cedar Springs, Fox Ridge, Sable Oaks, Sugarloaf, Turner Highlands, Val Halla

(1) Aroostook Valley, Augusta, Bangor Municipal, Barren View, Bethel Inn, Brunswick, Cape Arundel, Deep Brook, Dutch Elm, Gorham, JW Parks, Martindale, Northport, Norway, Presque Isle, Rockland, Samoset Resort, South Portland Municipal, Toddy Brook, Waterville, Woodlands, York

Youngest Competitors

(17) Eric Dugas and Carter Pearl (JW Parks)

Oldest Competitors

 (72) Nick Carparelli (Bangor Municipal) and Brent Mohr (York) 


Senior Club Team Championship Quick Facts

Recent Champions

2016: Augusta CC (Tom Bean, Mark Curtis, Mark Plummer, Jim Quinn)

2015: Portland CC (Mike Francoeur, Al Noyes, Jr., Charlie Tartre, Jim Wescott)

2014: Augusta CC (Tom Bean, Mike Nowak, Mark Plummer, Jim Quinn)

Golf Clubs Represented (36)

(2) Augusta, Bath, Brunswick, Houlton, Martindale, Portland, Sable Oaks, Summit Springs

(1) Barren View, Biddeford-Saco, Cedar Springs, Falmouth, Fox Ridge, Goose River, Gorham, Naples, Northport, Old  Marsh, Point Sebago, Prouts Neck, Province Lake, Purpoodock, Salmon  Falls, Sanford, Spring Meadows, Springbrook, Val Halla, York